SLABFEST 2018 - boulderbrighton.com

SLABFEST 2018

SLABFEST 2018

Leave your guns at the door

Join us for an evening of fancy footwork and slab-based fun, with a set of exciting new problems and challenges across a broad range of grades, featuring:

  • Setting from slab legend James McHaffie & the BB Crew - the first person to climb the UK's hardest slab climb, The Meltdown (9a)
  • Exclusive prizes for the evening's Slab Masters
  • Prize draw for free climbing memberships
  • Boot demos
  • Food from the Vegan Earthlings & a licenced bar
  • Special challenges, Live DJ, freebies!

Here's a bit more on the format: Our plan is to set 15 climbs using all the slabs and vertical walls at BB, spread across a range of grades. You'll each get a tick sheet, but unlike most normal comps no-one will be counting attempts - we just want to know if you can get to the top (or the bonus hold). This should make it a bit less stressful, and also reduce wait times for the blocs.

At the end of the night, the male and female climbers who have ticked the most blocs will win a highly coveted SLABFEST MASTER t-shirt, as pictured here from 2017's event.

Default Alt Text

We've got lots of other tasty prizes which everyone else will get a chance to win, too.

There will be boot demos so you can try out some of the latest climbing shoe designs, and slab legend James McHaffie himself will be around to share his pearls of wisdom. Plus a bar, delicious food, some fun extra challenges and plenty to keep everyone entertained through the night.

Cost: Normal entry fees only, no booking required

AKA the Brighton Ultimate Footwork Festival - leave your guns at the door... ;)

// Related News //

Winter Comp Series 2018/19 - R2 Results

Winter Comp Series 2018/19 - R2 Results

All the scores for the event are now up

  • Posted: Fri, 09 Nov
Blokfest is back for 2018
Sat, 8 Dec 2018

Blokfest is back for 2018

Blokfest is back at BB on 8th December 2018

  • Posted: Wed, 07 Nov
Winter Comp Series - R3
Fri, 11 Jan 2019

Winter Comp Series - R3

Round 3 of 4 in the series

  • Posted: Fri, 02 Nov
Winter Comp Series - R4
Fri, 15 Feb 2019

Winter Comp Series - R4

FINAL round in the series!

  • Posted: Fri, 02 Nov
Winter Comp Series - R2
Fri, 9 Nov 2018

Winter Comp Series - R2

Round 2 of 4 in the series

  • Posted: Fri, 02 Nov
Winter Comp Series 2018/19 - R1 Results

Winter Comp Series 2018/19 - R1 Results

All the scores for the event are now up

  • Posted: Mon, 22 Oct
Inter-Schools Comp 2019
Thu, 7 Mar 2019

Inter-Schools Comp 2019

Who will claim the ultimate prize?

  • Posted: Tue, 04 Dec
Student Boulder Party 2019
Sun, 10 Feb 2019

Student Boulder Party 2019

Including this years SCUB comp!

  • Posted: Tue, 04 Dec
Christmas Holiday Opening 2018
Wed, 26 Dec 2018

Christmas Holiday Opening 2018

We're open every day except Christmas Eve and Christmas Day

  • Posted: Thu, 29 Nov
Scarpa shoe demo night
Wed, 14 Nov 2018

Scarpa shoe demo night

Try before you buy from Scarpa's range of climbing shoes

  • Posted: Tue, 13 Nov
Foundation Coach Training
Sat, 29 Sep 2018

Foundation Coach Training

With James McHaffie

  • Posted: Mon, 17 Sep
BMC FUNDamentals 1 workshop
Mon, 10 Dec 2018

BMC FUNDamentals 1 workshop

With Katherine Schirrmacher

  • Posted: Mon, 17 Sep