SLABFEST 2018 - boulderbrighton.com

SLABFEST 2018

SLABFEST 2018

Leave your guns at the door

Join us for an evening of fancy footwork and slab-based fun, with a set of exciting new problems and challenges across a broad range of grades, featuring:

  • Setting from slab legend James McHaffie & the BB Crew - the first person to climb the UK's hardest slab climb, The Meltdown (9a)
  • Exclusive prizes for the evening's Slab Masters
  • Prize draw for free climbing memberships
  • Boot demos
  • Food from the Vegan Earthlings & a licenced bar
  • Special challenges, Live DJ, freebies!

Here's a bit more on the format: Our plan is to set 15 climbs using all the slabs and vertical walls at BB, spread across a range of grades. You'll each get a tick sheet, but unlike most normal comps no-one will be counting attempts - we just want to know if you can get to the top (or the bonus hold). This should make it a bit less stressful, and also reduce wait times for the blocs.

At the end of the night, the male and female climbers who have ticked the most blocs will win a highly coveted SLABFEST MASTER t-shirt, as pictured here from 2017's event.

Default Alt Text

We've got lots of other tasty prizes which everyone else will get a chance to win, too.

There will be boot demos so you can try out some of the latest climbing shoe designs, and slab legend James McHaffie himself will be around to share his pearls of wisdom. Plus a bar, delicious food, some fun extra challenges and plenty to keep everyone entertained through the night.

Cost: Normal entry fees only, no booking required

AKA the Brighton Ultimate Footwork Festival - leave your guns at the door... ;)

// Related News //

Summer Comp Series 19 - R4
Fri, 9 Aug 2019

Summer Comp Series 19 - R4

Join us for our monthly comp night

  • Posted: Sat, 11 May
Summer Comp Series 19 - R3
Fri, 12 Jul 2019

Summer Comp Series 19 - R3

Join us for our monthly comp night

  • Posted: Sat, 11 May
Summer Comp Series 19 - R2
Fri, 14 Jun 2019

Summer Comp Series 19 - R2

Join us for our monthly comp night

  • Posted: Sat, 11 May
Summer Comp Series 19 - R1 Results

Summer Comp Series 19 - R1 Results

All the scores for the event are now up

  • Posted: Fri, 10 May
Summer Comp Series 19 - R1
Fri, 10 May 2019

Summer Comp Series 19 - R1

Join us for our monthly comp night

  • Posted: Tue, 07 May
BB SIX 2019 - Results

BB SIX 2019 - Results

The results are up - how did you do?

  • Posted: Mon, 01 Apr
Foundation Coach Training 2019
Wed, 18 Sep 2019

Foundation Coach Training 2019

With James McHaffie

  • Posted: Mon, 20 May
Tenaya Boot Demo
Thu, 4 Apr 2019

Tenaya Boot Demo

Try before you buy from Tenaya's range of climbing shoes

  • Posted: Tue, 02 Apr
International Women's Day at BB 2019
Fri, 8 Mar 2019

International Women's Day at BB 2019

Women climb for just £5!

  • Posted: Tue, 05 Mar
Sussex win SCUB 2019!
Sun, 10 Feb 2019

Sussex win SCUB 2019!

They take the title from rivals Brighton

  • Posted: Mon, 11 Feb
Boreal shoe demo
Tue, 26 Feb 2019

Boreal shoe demo

Try before you buy from Boreal's range of climbing shoes

  • Posted: Wed, 06 Feb
Wideboyz Crack School
Sat, 2 Feb 2019

Wideboyz Crack School

It's back for 2019!

  • Posted: Thu, 20 Dec