SLABFEST 2018 - boulderbrighton.com

SLABFEST 2018

SLABFEST 2018

Leave your guns at the door

Join us for an evening of fancy footwork and slab-based fun, with a set of exciting new problems and challenges across a broad range of grades, featuring:

  • Setting from slab legend James McHaffie & the BB Crew - the first person to climb the UK's hardest slab climb, The Meltdown (9a)
  • Exclusive prizes for the evening's Slab Masters
  • Prize draw for free climbing memberships
  • Boot demos
  • Food from the Vegan Earthlings & a licenced bar
  • Special challenges, Live DJ, freebies!

Here's a bit more on the format: Our plan is to set 15 climbs using all the slabs and vertical walls at BB, spread across a range of grades. You'll each get a tick sheet, but unlike most normal comps no-one will be counting attempts - we just want to know if you can get to the top (or the bonus hold). This should make it a bit less stressful, and also reduce wait times for the blocs.

At the end of the night, the male and female climbers who have ticked the most blocs will win a highly coveted SLABFEST MASTER t-shirt, as pictured here from 2017's event.

Default Alt Text

We've got lots of other tasty prizes which everyone else will get a chance to win, too.

There will be boot demos so you can try out some of the latest climbing shoe designs, and slab legend James McHaffie himself will be around to share his pearls of wisdom. Plus a bar, delicious food, some fun extra challenges and plenty to keep everyone entertained through the night.

Cost: Normal entry fees only, no booking required

AKA the Brighton Ultimate Footwork Festival - leave your guns at the door... ;)

// Related News //

Winter Comp Series 2018/19 - Final Results

Winter Comp Series 2018/19 - Final Results

All the scores for the event are now up

  • Posted: Fri, 15 Feb
SIX anniversary comp day
Sat, 30 Mar 2019

SIX anniversary comp day

Come and celebrate our big birthday with us!

  • Posted: Mon, 21 Jan
Winter Comp Series 2018/19 - R3 Results

Winter Comp Series 2018/19 - R3 Results

All the scores for the event are now up

  • Posted: Fri, 11 Jan
Winter Comp Series 2018/19 - R2 Results

Winter Comp Series 2018/19 - R2 Results

All the scores for the event are now up

  • Posted: Fri, 09 Nov
Blokfest is back for 2018
Sat, 8 Dec 2018

Blokfest is back for 2018

Blokfest is back at BB on 8th December 2018

  • Posted: Wed, 07 Nov
Winter Comp Series - R3
Fri, 11 Jan 2019

Winter Comp Series - R3

Round 3 of 4 in the series

  • Posted: Fri, 02 Nov
Sussex win SCUB 2019!
Sun, 10 Feb 2019

Sussex win SCUB 2019!

They take the title from rivals Brighton

  • Posted: Mon, 11 Feb
Boreal shoe demo
Tue, 26 Feb 2019

Boreal shoe demo

Try before you buy from Boreal's range of climbing shoes

  • Posted: Wed, 06 Feb
Wideboyz Crack School
Sat, 2 Feb 2019

Wideboyz Crack School

It's back for 2019!

  • Posted: Thu, 20 Dec
Inter-Schools Comp 2019
Thu, 7 Mar 2019

Inter-Schools Comp 2019

Who will claim the ultimate prize?

  • Posted: Tue, 04 Dec
Student Boulder Party 2019
Sun, 10 Feb 2019

Student Boulder Party 2019

Including this years SCUB comp!

  • Posted: Tue, 04 Dec
Christmas Holiday Opening 2018
Wed, 26 Dec 2018

Christmas Holiday Opening 2018

We're open every day except Christmas Eve and Christmas Day

  • Posted: Thu, 29 Nov