Meet the author - Kevin Roet, Climbing Psychology - boulderbrighton.com

Meet the author - Kevin Roet, Climbing Psychology

Meet the author - Kevin Roet, Climbing Psychology

Come and have a chat with Kevin and learn about his new book

One of the reasons we love climbing is the balance of physical and mental challenge that it presents. Kevin Roet explores the mental side of the sport in depth in his new book, Climbing Psychology, and he's coming to Boulder Brighton on the 29th July for a "meet the author" event if anyone would like to chat to him about it.

If you'd like to say hello or ask any specific questions about the book or the mental side of training for climbing in general, he'll be around most of the day but free to chat from

  • 10am till Midday
  • 2pm to 4pm, and
  • 6pm to 8pm.

No need to book a chat, just come and say hi.

Here's a little more about the book from the author:

Fear and how it manifests in the brain can have a detrimental effect on climbing performance, whether we experience a fear of falling, a fear of failure, or a negative mindset. The psychology of climbing is not well covered but is just as important as physical training and climbing technique. With a strong mental game, it is possible to operate at your physical limit and enjoy climbing more.

Kevin Roet uses the latest in sports psychology, Cognitive Behavioural Therapy, scientific research and his own experiences to explain a complicated subject. "Climbing psychology" describes how the mind works in fearful situations - looking at fear and how it manifests not only psychologically but also physically.

Apart from the book’s application to climbing, it can be used in all situations where fear may be encountered. It is possible to train step-by-step to deal with these aspects in climbing. We live in a society where we strive for results but aren't always sure how to get there. We can achieve so much more than we think we are capable of with a few simple techniques and a willingness to learn.

Don't limit yourself!

// Related News //

Scarpa shoe demo
Fri, 22 Sep 2023

Scarpa shoe demo

Part of SLABTEMBER 2023

  • Posted: Wed, 30 Aug
La Sportiva shoe demo
Mon, 11 Sep 2023

La Sportiva shoe demo

Part of SLABTEMBER 2023

  • Posted: Wed, 30 Aug
Evolv shoe demo
Tue, 18 Oct 2022

Evolv shoe demo

Try before you buy from Evolv's range of climbing shoes

  • Posted: Mon, 17 Oct
Unparallel Shoe Demo
Wed, 25 May 2022

Unparallel Shoe Demo

Try before you buy from Unparallel's range of climbing shoes

  • Posted: Mon, 16 May
La Sportiva shoe demo
Thu, 24 Feb 2022

La Sportiva shoe demo

Try before you buy from La Sportiva's range of climbing shoes

  • Posted: Sat, 19 Feb
Evolv shoe demo
Thu, 27 Jan 2022

Evolv shoe demo

Try before you buy from Evolv's range of climbing shoes

  • Posted: Tue, 25 Jan
BB XI - anniversary festival and comp!
Fri, 15 Mar 2024

BB XI - anniversary festival and comp!

Booking now live!

  • Posted: Wed, 21 Feb
Inter Schools 2024

Inter Schools 2024

Boulder Brighton Inter Schools Competition 2024

  • Posted: Tue, 30 Jan
Mental Health First Aid course
Wed, 6 Mar 2024

Mental Health First Aid course

Book now online

  • Posted: Thu, 04 Jan
Upcoming training courses
Tue, 16 Jan 2024

Upcoming training courses

Book now online

  • Posted: Thu, 04 Jan
BMC FUNdamentals of Climbing 1
Tue, 9 Jan 2024

BMC FUNdamentals of Climbing 1

Training course at BB

  • Posted: Wed, 06 Dec